12 Days of Selfless Christmas (Day 11 and 12) (2 Minute Read)

It’s the day after Christmas; the hype surrounding presents, food, and eggnog is finished.  I pray that you don’t have the Christmas hangover.  I would define the Christmas hangover as an overwhelming feeling of emptiness and despair, knowing the next Christmas is now 364 days away.  What I do wish for you is that you are able to look back at this past Christmas season with joyful memories full of family, food, festivities, and fun! I have two other hopes for you.  The first being that you celebrated the true meaning of Christmas, the first coming of Jesus.  Second, that you placed a smile on someone’s face with a gift, a good deed, or kind and encouraging words.

My final two acts of selflessness were focused around those who were required to work on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  First, I want to make it clear that I understand a few things; everyone doesn’t celebrate Christmas, not everyone has family or family close, some people need to work on Christmas and Christmas Eve for the extra Holiday pay, and some people simply don’t enjoy Christmas.  Moving forward, I want to thank everyone who worked on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.  I have been there, and have worked my share of Christmas Eve’s as my career progressed.  So, I understand what y’all went through.  I wanted to focus my final two selfless acts around the individuals who were working on Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

“Only by giving are you able to receive more than you already have.” Jim Rohn

I apartment community my wife and I live at has a team of concierge staff who are always readily available to help the residents, and they were working both Christmas and Christmas Eve.  On Christmas Eve, while at the local Kroger, I purchased a dozen holiday cupcakes for the concierge team.  The young lady who was working was very kind upon accepting the gift and initiated a “Merry Christmas” exchange.

img_6296

I’m ashamed to admit to this, but I was one of the many people who forgot to purchase an ingredient for a recipe and did not come to the realization until Christmas Day, while baking.  Yesterday, in the absence of our families, we shared Christmas night and dinner with a couple from our church.  I volunteered to bake an apple pie for our dessert.  While making the filling I uncovered that we did not have any flour!  What’s a gentleman to do?  Jump into his car and drive to the nearest Walgreens: I remember seeing commercials where they were encouraging the procrastinators, like me, to come in and buy last minute items.  While purchasing my flour I pulled out a $5 Starbucks gift card from my wallet and handed it to him.  He was intrigued and asked what it was.  I just said I appreciate him working today and Merry Christmas. He was hesitant but overall thankful.

img_6343

Once again I want to thank everyone who worked long hours during the holiday, Christmas Eve, and Christmas Day.  I want to specially thank our troops who selflessly spend holidays away from their families so that we can enjoy ours.

“On the first day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me left over candies and goodies.’
“On the second day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the third day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the fourth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the fifth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the sixth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the seventh day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me money to fill my gas tank,a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the eighth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a queen bed to myself, money to fill my gas tank,a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”
“On the tenth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a parking spot to pull in, a queen bed to myself, money to fill my gas tank,a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”

“On the eleventh day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a dozen fresh baked cupcakes, a parking spot to pull in, a queen bed to myself, money to fill my gas tank,a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”

“On the twelfth day of selfless Christmas the Gentleman gave to me a $5 Starbucks gift card, a dozen fresh baked cupcakes, a parking spot to pull in, a queen bed to myself, money to fill my gas tank,a breakfast to fill my hungry tummy,four bags of groceries,a trip home to see me, Chinese food for breakfast, breakfast sausage piggies, and left over candies and goodies.”

Leave a Reply

