Happy New Year! Make 2017 Great

Once again, we embark on the journey of a new year. This year is going to be my year! I’m going to reinvent my career, body, and mind. Every January first these thoughts, goals, and aspirations fill our minds. Throughout January, most of these aspirations and goals will fly out the window, and you will resort back to your old habits and daily routines. Our days are filled with constant reminders, via social media, of our friend’s perfect meals, drinking adventures, and unforgettable nights; which will be, momentarily, replaced with #gymflow, workout plans, motivational quotes, and attention grabbing fitness updates. This is a cycle, which will, until the end of time, repeat itself. I would like to propose a new approach to the New Year. This approach will help you avoid the annual failure, and letdown, of the same New Years resolution.

“A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.” 

There are many reasons why resolutions fail; lack of accountability, too many layers, simply unrealistic, time restraints, and lack of determination. Although all of these reasons are realistic, I believe there’s one underlying reason why most people are stuck in the cycle of New Years resolution failure. The reason is simple. You are not highlighting your strengths, working to improve your successes of the past year, and drawing from your “God-given talents”.   For example, if your natural body type is slender, it’s difficult for you to gain weight, and your legs are as long as the Empire State Building. I wouldn’t recommend that your NYR (New Years resolution), is not to become a body builder. Rather, I would recommend focusing your efforts on muscle toning, increasing your endurance, and building on your fitness achievements of 2016. In addition, if your natural talents include active listening and relating to others, I would not recommend embarking on a NYR of becoming a manager who is a “teller” and not a “doer”. If you want to make the most out of your NYR, I would ask you to take some time, put down your mimosa, Bloody Mary, or anything else you’re nursing, and complete the following steps. This will help you create a sustainable and attainable NYR.

Review your successes from 2016.

  • Financial successes
  • Fitness successes
  • Personal life successes
  • Career Successes

Find commonalities in the different areas in your life

  • What actions helped create the success?

Reach out to 3 of the most trusted friends to receive feedback on their perception of your “talents”

  • Ask for specific examples
  • Ask for honesty

Complete a personality test

Integrate all of your findings into a successful NYR

  • Realistic
  • Simple
  • Measureable

nye-champagne

While all of your friends and family will be attempting the same NYR, following through for 2 weeks, and experiencing the same failures, you will be embarking on journey of a successful year. You can choose to make 2017 a year of success by changing your approach to creating and choosing goals. Don’t be a part of the 92% of the population who fail at the NYR. Rather, choose to be a part of the 8% who succeed at their NYR by highlighting your current strengths, expanding on your successes from 2016, and drawing from your “God given talents”.

Have an outstanding start to your 2017!

Happy Trails!

 

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year! Make 2017 Great

  1. I love this time of year! I’ve been honing the skill of completing goals since I’ve started blogging and so I’m really happy to say that I achieved all of my main resolutions in the past two years and I hope this year will be the same 🙂
    I’m trying to stick to my strengths, as you’ve suggested, this year so I’ll mostly be writing and listening to people (I’m the quiet type)

    Like

    1. Enette, that’s fantastic to hear! Listening is a skill that’s often forget about. I’m glad that it comes easy to you!

      What are some of your tips and tricks for creating goals and, more importantly, sticking to them to fruition?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well I start off by only setting three goals instead of creating a list of resolutions and then I go over each goal and make it S.M.A.R.T. which stands for Specific. Measurable. Agreed. Realistic. Time related.

        After I’ve done this I basically know exactly what I expect from myself and so I can go over each goal specifically and write down smaller milestones that will build up to finishing it. (If the goal is write 50000 words a milestone is write 2000 a day)
        As for sticking to them, I only have the tip of pursue things you really want to. If there’s no passion or drive behind the goal then you’ll find it a lot harder to finish what you started.
        It’s actually advice I gave to someone else a few weeks ago; find your why before you decide on your how.
        Oh gosh! This is such a long answer, I hope it didn’t bore you 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. No it didn’t bore at all! I use SMART action plans in my business. So, I completely understand. I like that a you break it down to daily goals. I believe that’s extremely important.

        Regarding your find your why before you find your how, I couldn’t agree more. I love the quote, “When you know your why you can endure any how.” John O’Leary

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

